Home > quad, Running > Been a while

Been a while

February 22, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s been a while, and a few things have happened as usual.

Auroville has come and gone. I was plagued with doubt and indecision, swung this way and that and finally took the easy way out – ran a 10k, almost token-like and tick-marked Auroville. I justified it to myself saying that such weekend getaways with Deeps and kids are rarer than races nowadays. Certainly, it was a fun weekend and I enjoyed it, though a small part of me feels a tad guilty that I ditched a shot at the long one. Ramani sir, notwithstanding his injury and lack of long runs, proved that the muscles that matter are typically higher up in the body.

The quad has been fun – more emphasis on swings, squats and presses. Arv the coach, has been on my case – We actually met 1-on-1 and had a long chat about my current state, improvements that need to be made, goals and stuff. No major surprises there – upper body and core.. you know what I have been lamenting about.

But, he asked – I argued – finally relented – and agreed to go gluten-free for 1 month. Yup, 30 days of gluten free diet. What I didn’t fully understand was what all it entailed me having to give up – all breads (sandwiches, pizza etc), rotis (chapatis, nan, parota etc), pasta.. Ok – you know what – all that is really not a problem. I have a problem with 3 things that I got to give up – beer, whiskey and upma! But, it’s just 30 days and I’ve said ok. It’s already been a week and I haven’t had any serious withdrawal symptoms. :-). It just feels funny drinking vodka at parties.  

Then.. hmm.. yeah – the beginner runs have been fun. :-).

RI haven’t been running much of late. I need to get into a routine, fitting in runs and the quad sessions. Here is what I think I should do starting from Monday =>  Nothing – Quad – Run – Quad – Nothing – Quad+Run – Run. Hope I can implement that.

Categories: quad, Running
  1. Momski
    February 23, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    10k run with a tendon inj is good enough! Ask ur sis, she,s opted for dance classes instead of runs!

  1. February 22, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

