Home > Running > Shahid’s Ultra – a kick in the butt that I so needed

Shahid’s Ultra – a kick in the butt that I so needed

December 17, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s almost a week since the Shahid’s Ultra (Dec 11, 2011 – last Sunday) – always wanted to write about it, but didn’t get around to it until now.

Anyway, it was a very sorry performance from me – I started with the 3:30 gang, trudged about and crawled until 30k (in a miserable 3:40 or so), walked for another 1.5 kms and just gave up. Plonked my sorry ass in Ramesh Seshadri’s support car and watched the others grit and grind their way through to Radisson.

—–

I ran a 30k inside IIT on Nov 26 – that was extremely tiring, but I had a reason excuse – that was my 5th consecutive day of doing something (3 quad days and 1 interval workout preceded that) – and I was actually very happy that I finished that 30k. A good run to push through pain. 

Then 2 weeks of doing shit happened. Munich happened – 5 days of eating out, 4 of them with alcohol, 0 runs, 0 workouts – and then I came back to Madras feeling lousy. I ran a 5k on Saturday just to see if I remember how to run. 2 weeks is long – long enough to add a couple of kilos, feel blah in general and feel rusty. Wasn’t feeling too good about the Sunday run. 50k was daunting enough and I was feeling crappy on top of it.

Ok, so as you can see, I have built the base and doled out my excuses for dnf’ing – but frankly, what I did on Sunday was just bullshit.

I was never in it – never looked like even wanting to finish 50k. I started out slowest and kept going slower. Almost just “waited” for the 5:1 to become 4:1 and then “waited” for it to be 3:1 and so on. Even on the 3:1, I was taking breaks midway – first at random, and then all the time – *within* that 3 min run period.

Looking back, I was this bloody jackass who went out there and just ambled along until it reached a “respectable” time and distance – where I assumed and estimated that I wouldn’t feel terrible – and just gave up. If someone described this as pathetic, I wouldn’t argue – that was exactly what it was.

At that time, I made peace with myself convincing myself with the same crap I doled out before, but the truth is – I was never in it – mentally not there and physically out of shape.

—–

Need to get back and the last week hasn’t been too bad. After that run, I have no problems in getting out of bed – I just think of that run and I jump out of bed. I ran on Tuesday and then again on Thursday. Both 10k something to Marina. I did decent stretch session on Mon and Wed, and after the bike ride today, I feel better.

But, we’ll see tomorrow. Exam coming up.

Categories: Running
  1. Momski
    December 18, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Personally I think 30k is a loooong run, not something many folks can do so nothing to be ashamed of, rather u can be happy you are in shape for that!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

