Home > Running > Long, long run

Long, long run

November 27, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Boy! It was a long run. A very long one. I haven’t been this tired, worn out and struggling so much in a long time. In fact, I think I wasn’t this crappy even during the Munich marathon (or even the Hyd Marathon) when the distance was longer (and in case of Hyd the route more rougher).

Set out with the Painter, Rocket, Krishna and Preeti at 5:15 from IIT main gate, on my patented 5:1, 4:1, 3:1, 2:1. The goal was to do 30k.

Was feeling stiff and sore during the 1st 10k, but it was still reasonably comfortable, enjoying the banter among all of us. The quad is a good part of the conversation and I receive more than my fair share of jibes. Painter has shifted camps now and Krishna is the sensationalist – even normally, I am not known for my witty responses, but on the run while struggling to catch my breath, immediate and clever rejoinders were less forthcoming. But, I am going to sue him for character assassination and defaming my fair name in a public forum!

The next 10k was fine too, or as good as it can be. Tiring, but not killing. Good conversations, nice songs on Krishna’s ipod and a short shower kept us going. No big problems and I even think that once the muscles eased out, the 10-20k was probably even a little bit more enjoyable.

21.1 happened at 2:22 – sure, it is slow, but for a 30k goal, it was acceptable.

At 22.5, Rocket, Krishna and Painter turned back and headed back – their goal was to do 25 – leaving Preeti and me to grind out the next 7.5 kms.

I think I faced my cliff at 25k and hurtled down that from then on. It took us exactly an hour from 21.1 to 30k. The last 5k seemed like an eternity. For most of that time, we hardly spoke – I don’t think we could. It was a massive struggle, especially for me. We were down to a 3:1 and then to a 2:1, but still couldn’t run. Legs were cramping, feeling stiff and very heavy.

I tried every trick I knew – running hard, running slow, changing the way I ran, counting steps/ min, keeping up to Preeti’s footfall, setting targets a min (like that garbage bin, that tree or that pole), talked to myself – but it was still bloody difficult.  Seriously, I think this last patch was one of the toughest ever. In a way, I am very glad that I ran through this patch – this one was a workout for the head.

Got to thank Preeti for this, because, if I was running by myself, I don’t think I would have made it. It was her 1st 30k, and she was brilliant. Struggled as well, but stronger head I guess – she took off towards the end and finished real strong.

30k in 3:22 (Preeti must be around a minute faster).

Categories: Running
  1. Momski
    November 28, 2011 at 3:07 am

    You did it! That’s all that counts, super cool da, really great

  2. Krishna
    December 4, 2011 at 2:11 am

    What do you mean I am the sensationalist? I am offended and should be seriously thinking about suing you! I missed you all in my long run yesterday at Mettur. I am really enjoying this walk/run routine! Thanks!

  3. December 14, 2011 at 4:10 am

    I am late to everything these days! btw, i am sorry i didn’t realise you were struggling that much. not that, if i knew, i would have said ‘lets stop now’ – that wouldn’t be my style! it was difficult, but my subsequent long ones have been easier! so, thanks for sticking with me on my longest run ever! BTW, I have a treat lined up for you for this weekend – Sunday – so get ready!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

