Home > quad > Coming to a close

Coming to a close

November 24, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Last week of this bootcamp. Has been an awesome experience.

The coaches believe in driving it right up to the end and I didn’t think it was possible, but they actually up’ed the ante.

Tuesday was the push-up day. Argh! I hate push-ups. Totally hate it. I can’t do 1 *proper* push up. They split us up and all the men folk were tasked with doing proper push-ups (no knee stuff) – with weights on their back. All – except me.

So, every one there went from doing a set of 5 proper push-ups –> 8 kgs on their back –> on to 16 kgs –> 32 and so on. All rocked. Solid sets. Brilliant stuff.

No weights on my back, I was asked to just do 1 set of 10 push-ups. That’s it. And I couldn’t. Failed. I tried and even went up to doing 7 or 8 on 1 set, but couldn’t hold it. And these were not proper ones – Arvind looked over and said “your upper body and lower body are disassociated. Get them together” – I knew what he was saying; My “push up” is all over the place. Damn it.

Today (Thursday) was far better. As usual let me ‘steal’ the description from painter

One of those tough and challenging quad sessions today…We were drained in the end. It is a 5 set workout. Each set is made of 3 exercises (Burpees, kettleBell swings, diagonal displacement with weight) each done for 1 minute, one after another, without break. After finishing 1 set of these 3, we get 1 minute break. Then do the same again to finish 5 sets of this. Then it was planks for 25 secs. 5 sets with a break of 20 secs in between. Last quad session is tomorrow…Going to miss these interesting workouts.

 

Of course, I hated the Burpees and the diagonal displacements, but unlike the push-up, I could let loose a few grunts and get through it. Obviously, I gave up on the plank-hold a few times.

Categories: quad
  1. Momski
    November 24, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    Well, Ivan keep doing push ups daily till u become perfect, no big deal!

    • Anonymous
      November 25, 2011 at 6:51 am

      yeah.. I guess I should.. really bad at this 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

