Home > quad > Holding up my partner

Holding up my partner

October 18, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Paired up with Prakash today on the workout.

Straight forward workout.

1st half (7:30 mins) = 15 x <how many ever you can> Squats – alternating with your partner

2nd half = 10 x knee push-ups + 10 x kettlebell rows on each hand – again alternating with your partner

One big rule – The kettlebell does NOT get put down once. We were using a 16 kg kettlebell for the squat and the 12 kg for the row.

It was obviously timed, and in Raj’s preamble he said “If you could get 7 sets done in 7:30, that’s badass” – and I think that rung some loud bell in Prakash and he was at it, possessed by some super strength. I thought I was ok in squats, but Prakash nailed it. He went 1-2-3..15 in no time and when it was over to me, I was struggling. 1st couple of sets went alright, but the 3rd, 4th were a huge struggle, taking a lot of time and the 5th was miserable. I was buckling and groaning to get up.

There was no way I could do any more. Prakash did a 6th set and I took the kettlebells from him at the end of that set, shook my head and just stood there – waited for Raj to count the last seconds down and put that iron ball down. Badass workouts can come later. Sorry partner.

The 2nd half went actually better than I expected. Maybe because we went slower. The rows were fine since we had wisely switched to a lower weight. The knee push-ups were a struggle as usual, but there was no big surprise there.

There was a 4 min core bit to round things off, and I was pretty pathetic at that too. The 4 mins was – 20 sec hold, 10 sec break – of the Hollow Hold; if we are unable to do that, do the normal (elbow) plank, if that’s not possible, do the easier straight-armed plank.

I just did 1 hollow hold, before I shifted to the normal plank and then to the straight armed plank.

Just another area to work on.

Categories: quad
  1. saro
    October 24, 2011 at 12:18 am

    thalai kal purialai, poda! all the best for ur work outs any way

    • karthikpadmanabhan
      October 25, 2011 at 4:57 am

      :-). It’s nothing great ma.. summa general stuff which Dwarak will nail it easily..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

