Home > Uncategorized > Bad start to the Quad bootcamp

Bad start to the Quad bootcamp

September 20, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

<Errata below. Got a few points clarified and so it is only fair that I put those down as corrections to my assumptions. Marked with Sep 23>

 

Unfortunately, it has started off on a slightly discordant note.

We have not even started, but a few points which has been bugging me a little. Really. Just a little, but here they are:

  • # 1 – The agreement which they asked us to sign when we signed up was hopelessly one-sided. I really hadn’t seen such an one-sided agreement ever. It might be common in gyms to place all liability on the customer, but even by that standards, this totally relied on us signing without reading. Worse part was that I signed even after reading! 🙂

 

Is there a limit to the number of classes I can attend?

 

Nope! You register for the 10 week program and then its up to you to attend as many classes as you want. Note: At any point of time, if our coaches think that you are attending too many or too few classes we will work with you to optimize workout volume to ensure you are still progressing towards your goals.

This was what I liked. The flexibility and the approach. 

BUT – The very 1st point on their pre-class reminder email says this:

1. Everyone who registered for Mon-Wed-Fri sessions will have their first class on 19th of September (Monday) and everyone else will have their first class on the 20th of September (Tuesday). We will have a sign-up sheet and will be monitoring which and how many classes you attend. So please only attend classes you are registered for. If you have any travel plans and would like to attend a class you are not registered to, please contact us in advance.

Appears as if rules are being made up as we go. Flexibility, atleast for now, is relegated to the muscles.

<Sep 23: It’s been 2 classes done now, and I haven’t seen any “sign up sheet”. No such thing. But, I can certainly see how 3 classes a week is the optimal limit.>

  • # 3 – Just a days back, a few days before the bootcamp was going to start, I got this mail:

As we are getting close to the end of registrations for the BootCamp, we have noticed that there are lesser people interested in the 5-6 am time slot compared to the other slots (for obvious reasons of course). In the interest of providing you with high quality workouts that are challenging and fun, we would like to club both the 5-6am slots into one slot….

As a result, we will be moving both of you into the following special slot (along with others who registered for the 5-6am slots).

Time: 5am to 6am

Days: Tuesday, Thursday, Friday

To be honest, I completely understood their position and predicament at that time, and I was ok with this. Senthil and I decided that we will run on Thursday and do the bootcamp on Tuesday and Friday.

But when you start to build a case, you got to get all the points :-).

<Sep 23: Now I feel a little dumb about writing this and wish I can take it back :-)>

  • # 4 – Finally today – Sep 20. Tuesday morning. The start of the bootcamp and when I jumped out of bed at 4 am, it was pouring buckets. But, I still got out, got ready and was locking up the house at 4:40 when I got the sms from Senthil saying that the class is called off – check mail.

Check mail!? At 4:40 am? I checked and saw this:

Hey guys,

Due to incessant rain, we are gonna cancel the 5am class today. We are not sure about the 6am and 7am classes yet (in case some of you want to attend that today). Regardless, we will make up for this missed class, and will send out an email to you guys later today on this.

We are really bummed about this, and were looking forward to working out with you guys today.

Cheers

AA

Not pissed off because it was cancelled. That is somewhat understandable. Pissed off because they could should have sent a sms – not just email. They have the numbers, and they probably have an iPhone.

<Sep 23: Biggest correction is here. They apparently DID sent out sms’es to everyone. Including me – to the number that I had given on the waiver form. This took me by surprise because I am not sure if I gave some other number and… yeah – I feel like a jackass. I apologized immediately, and here again – if I had given some other number and that’s why your sms did not reach – I am sorry.>

And then I see this on FB

No amount of rain could stop the Quad peeps from showing up n kickin ass on today’s squat workout! Great job guys!

Huh?

<Sep 23: The FB status was talking about the 6-7 and 7-8 batch. The 5-6 batch was indeed cancelled. There were a couple who turned up but had to return.>

I am sure that in a few days (hopefully tomorrow) when the Bootcamp actually gets underway, all this will be forgotten and I will be jumping all over, :-), but wanted to crib somewhere for now..

<Sep 23: Now, things cleared and I feel better. Especially since the workouts have been awesome.>

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 21, 2011 at 3:06 am

    Aah that all makes sense now… I hear you, brother, I hear you. I was thinking about you when I saw a message on FB abt the rain thing. Ouch!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

