Home > Running > Running buddies

Running buddies

Last Sunday (June 26) was the usual Classic.

Woke up early, went to AU and started off on a 5:1 R:W. I was going solo initially, because there was no one that keen (or so I thought) on a R:W when I called out before we started off. I think I set off quite fast trying to do 1k in that 6 mins that constituted a 5:1, but was falling short by ~100 mts and so trying harder. This was certainly not a good idea.

Around the 3k mark, just as I turned into Boatclub road, Senthil, Rahul and Joe Clymer caught up with me and joined me on the R:W. I was so thankful to see them and for the company. They are possibly the best running company around. It is so much fun running with these guys. 

It’s just unfortunate that I can’t match their pace. They run so strongly. But, today, they were on a mission to give me company. I would try to keep up, but I wouldn’t be able to and suddenly they would realize they they were further down the road and they couldn’t hear my panting breath any more – despite my (feeble) insistence that they run on, they would either wait for me, or on most times, turn around and walk back to run together again! That was simply super of them. I wonder who else would do that.

10k was done in 1:02 and then I slowed down even further. I was struggling by the time we got to Indira Nagar and am sure would have contemplated either cutting the distance down, or reducing the run-walk ratio if not for these guys pulling me along.

Thankfully, we were able to slip by the security guards, into IIT, which as usual was like a breath of fresh air (absolutely – literally). Finished the planned half in 2:13 and that was totally due to my incredible running buddies who just pulled me right through the way. Thank you 🙂

Categories: Running
  1. saro
    July 1, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    good to have such great friends

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

