Home > Injury, Running > July 17, 2010 – Saturday: Trail Running – just off Mount Road!

July 17, 2010 – Saturday: Trail Running – just off Mount Road!

Day 6 – at YMCA with Ramesh, Ram and Senthil

I strained my back this morning. Not sure if it was because of the luggage lifting yesterday, ir any other reason, but I suddenly got a catch this morning just before I left home and I got this pain in the back all the time. Unable to turn or twist without pain and it’s annoying.

Anyway, I got to YMCA nice and early (today’s run was scheduled only for 6:30, because Ram was supposed to take his daughter for Tennis classes – which eventually got cancelled because of overnight rain and wet courts). Tried to shake off the back ache, but couldn’t. Ramesh came in and taught me a back stretch which relieved a bit of the pain, but only momentarily.

Once Senthil and Ram came in – we started off sharp at 6:30. Ramesh and I paired up, while Senthil and Ram paired up and led the way just ahead of us. For the 1st 5k Ram took us through some *trails* in and around YMCA which I never knew of, nor imagined! It was a proper trail – just paths created by continuous walking, and bits of it was quite nice, though some bits were a little bit dirty. 

The 2nd 5k was mostly done within YMCA running around the various grounds there. It has been 12years since I came to YMCA – I think the last that I came was during the Future Software Cricket competition (which our team won and got some good memories of that 🙂 ). The grouds pretty much look the same though now there are better tennis courts, a badminton court, gym etc.

At the end of the run, we went to a sports coach, also named Viswanathan, who stretched Ram and me out thoroughly! Oh man! He was good and stretched and pulled every muscle expertly. He charges 100/- per person for a stretching session, and I think it is worth doing it once in a while.

Got home, showered, had a big breakfast and slept for about 45 minutes. I feel so much better now, though the back catch and pain still persists. I really hope it goes away soon.

Categories: Injury, Running
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

