Home > Running > June 1, 2010 – Tuesday: A great field of runners this morning

June 1, 2010 – Tuesday: A great field of runners this morning

Couldn’t sleep well and actually woke up earlier than the alarm and was at the start point (Dimensions) way ahead of time. That gave the chance to warm up well and then they started coming.

First was Ram closely followed by Shankar and Ananth. Ramesh Galloway Seshadri came in next (he is back!). Senthil Anand (who I had forgotten to call/ sms last night) cycled in, and then the sardonic but always witty, Balaji sauntered in. We set off at 5:15, and bumped into Vilwa. If Sandy had joined in as promised, it would have been the best bunch seen together in a long time. But, this is as good as it gets. I sure was running in august company.

Finally, Senthil got someone (Ramesh) who could reply and hold a conversation with him while clipping along, instead of the one way street he is always on while running with me.

My target for today was to get to 5k in under 30 mins and then take it from there. So, I pushed to get to Marina in 28.something, took my walk break till it got to 30 mins and headed back. The 1st half was nice, and equally, the 2nd half was ragged. As usual, the Savera flyover on the return almost delivered a KO blow: I took 3 walk breaks in the last 2.5 kms – 1st: down that flyover, 2nd: at the end of Poes garden and finally 3rd, I had to walk up the TTK road flyover from close to mid point.

Senthil and Ramesh caught up with me around the top of the bridge, and since I had just taken a break walking up while they had run up, I still had a head start for the final patch and pushed ahead.

Right at the end, while I was going hell for leather and busting my gut, Senthil breezes past me, as usual asking me some random question on distance or something which I couldn’t even register.

But once again, a super run – just over 10k in 1 hour. As usual, super exhausted.

Categories: Running
  1. Divya
    June 1, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Oh now 10K in 1 hour is not even worth calling out .. hmm you are moving on to a different league now I see! 🙂

    • Anonymous
      June 3, 2010 at 1:45 am

      No no. It is, it is. I have done that only 3 times ever and I am not in any league. At least not in yours :-p

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

