Home > Running > May 15, 2010 – Saturday: AU run with newbies

May 15, 2010 – Saturday: AU run with newbies

I was going to miss tomorrow’s classic run – happily 🙂 – Divs is coming late tonight.

So, a run today with the VCY folks at AU was perfectly on for me. Ashok sms’ed me this morning and said that he may not make it but urged me to go since Yash, Anand and Sudha would come.

None of them did, but instead we had 2 newbies – Jayanth and Anshul – along with Ram Prasad. So, we set off.

I am struggling big time. This much is very clear. I ran 1 lap, 3.7kms in ~24 mins and had to stop for a water and walk break. I could not even finish the 2nd lap. I had to start walking at 7kms (45 min mark) and then change into a 2:1 RW – ! Not a 4:1 or even a 3:1 – but a 2:1. That’s all I could do.

Finished 10k in 1:05, but it was tough. I don’t get it. I concede that the heat and humidity are sapping, but it is not bad enough to get me hanging my tongue out like a dog unless there is something wrong with me. I am sure there is something wrong, but I can’t figure out what exactly – I’ve lost much of the basic stamina and fitness, gained a little bit of weight – but would it make such a difference that I am struggling at 7k, and having finished 10k, feel like a dog?

At this rate, Divs would blitz me badly, but too late now.

Categories: Running
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

