Home > Running > Apr 10, 2010 – Saturday: Scorching

Apr 10, 2010 – Saturday: Scorching

When the IPL was announced 2.5 years back and there was a poll competition to name the Chennai team – my suggestion for the name and I even threw in a tagline was: “Madras Scorchers – Feel the heat”. I felt that if there was something which everyone around the world acknowledges about Madras, it is the heat.

Super Kings, as a name, is totally lousy – I does nothing to depict Madras. It’s a different matter that none of the team names do that. Sponsors and franchises take precedence over triggering fan base sentiments. 

Anyway, there were a few other names which I suggested – like blistering, burning, smoldering, fire etc – none of which I remember now, but all were plays about the HEAT.

All that preamble was to say that it was hot today. But having done nothing in the last few days, the motivation for a long one today was there.

Shahid and I started just after 5. Shahid suggested a 9:1 and away we went. His watch was not showing the speed accurately (darn! it kept showing lesser) and he set a brutal pace in the beginning. We reached Marina in about 30 mins which is a nice round 10kmph average.

I couldn’t keep up with that. So, as early as 5 km into the run, I suggested that Shahid run ahead and I’ll catch up with him on the return. But, he slowed down and we ran together after that – turned around at the Iron bridge when the run reached exactly 1 hour.

We switched to a 4:1, cut our pace a little bit and ran all the way back. This part was reasonably consistent, but sapping. I just got sapped off all my energy. It was like my laptops battery with the power switched off. You would be amazed at the rapidity at which it erodes, not unlike my condition today.

When we got back to my place, we had done 1 hour 40 something minutes, 16.1 kms. I don’t how and why I pushed myself, but went on running through Anderson road, Greams road, Rutland gate – to do another 5 kms in some 37 minutes – to finish 21.2 kms in 2 hours 17 minutes.

Categories: Running
  1. Divya
    April 10, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    I like Madras Scorchers !!
    21.2 in the heat is awesome 🙂

  2. saro
    April 11, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    thought sat was ur day of rest???

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

