Home > Core, Weights > Apr 5, 2010 – Monday: Upper body weights + core at Sterling club

Apr 5, 2010 – Monday: Upper body weights + core at Sterling club

I followed the schedule today :-).

In the morning, I picked Vijay up from Mambalam, dropped him off at Central and was at Sterling club by 5:40. It was deserted, though the gym was open. The A/Cs, however, were not working and so it was stuffy when I went through the warm-up (Elliptical 10 mins, Stationary bike 10 mins). That was paradoxical because I was quite warm (hot) just standing there. 🙂

I was the only one there, though a few trickled in by around 6:15 or so.

The back (lat pull) machine’s cable was broken and so the only exercise for the back was rendered unavailable.

So, the upper body weights mainly comprised of Chest, shoulders, triceps and biceps. Took it easy with fairly low weights – felt it, but was not horrible. It just took 20 minutes and so did the core workout as well.

For the core, I did the plank (flat down and sides), the superman stuff and 2 sets (15 each) of crunches – see what I mean by taking it easy.

It helped that almost everyone (bar one) there at the gym were old, oversized, clumsy (you should have seen one guy on the rowing machine – James would have died right there), quite badly attired (there was this man wearing a white banian with the ancient police khaki shorts and rubber slippers) and had no idea what to do there. The shocker was a guy sitting on the stretch machine – except he was not stretching but swinging back and forth basically using it like a seated row machine.

Anyway, all that meant that I was not feeling lousy as I normally would looking at everyone else up-shifting the weights and eyeing me pitifully.

I met that one guy who went through his routine like a neat pro at the parking lot. He is Ram Kumar and got to know that he is one of the Madras (and Chennai) Hashers – remember? – “The drinking group with a running problem” 🙂

I promised to hook up with him for a run and drink some time later – and this is a promise I am sure to keep.

Categories: Core, Weights
  1. saro
    April 5, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    does this mean no more sterling club??

    • karthikpadmanabhan
      April 6, 2010 at 2:25 am

      No no, I like it. I am warming up to it actually. I’ll go there as often as I can. In fact, I am thinking that if I go early enough, I could even do a dip in the pool after the workout which’ll be great. So, Sterling club is on.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

