Home > Injury, Running, Yoga > Mar 30, 2010 – Tuesday: Back to running in blistering Madras

Mar 30, 2010 – Tuesday: Back to running in blistering Madras

Gosh! It’s hot. I could hardly sleep – blame it on the jetlag, but I was up by 3:45, did a little bit of yoga (after a very long time) and was out of home by 4:45. The Chetpet run was scheduled to start at 5:30 and so decided to run the long way to MCC. Went through Egmore – Spurtank road and reached there by around 5:15ish.

It was sweltering. 5 minutes into the run and I was sweating off every pore. 10 minutes into the run and my t-shirt was drenched. Phew! It is hot – at 5:00 in the morning. But, it was a nice run nevertheless.

Home to MCC: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/28404706

5.21 kms in 32.19

 

I got almost 20 minutes to cool off while we waited for the CR folks to assemble. We had VPS, Sudhir Ahuja, Siva and Sandy this morning – so, a bunch of CR heavyweights in attendance.

Started running with VPS while Sudhir and Siva were a few steps behind. We were strolling at a leisurely pace of ~8.something per km. Sandy wanted to stretch out and said he would catch up. And boy – catch up he did. At the top of the Gurusami bridge, he zoomed past us like some runaway train! I am not kidding – he zipped past us like he was on some fuel propelled engine with an action which an well oiled pump would die for.

I had a brain fade and actually decided to run with him. The next 10 minutes was probably the quickest I’ve run for anytime over 2-3 minutes. I had smoke coming out my ears when we were approaching the Pachiayya college hostel (near Chiti’s house) when almost inexplicably Sandy slowed down and said he wanted to walk. Phew! I actually panted out “Thanks” 🙂 – I couldn’t have lasted longer to be honest.

But, I didn’t want to walk. Instead, I went back to the leisurely pace and ran solo back to the start point. I skipped the Pachiyappa college loop which the others (who were behind) did. (I retrospect, it would have been good for me to do that too).

Standard CR’s Chetpet run: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/28404699

5.22 kms in 30:30

 

Walked for a bit while the everyone trooped in. Went into MCC, stretched out and VPS dropped me back home.

It was hot alright, but felt good to be back running on Madras roads. 🙂

p.s.: Only thing bothering me now is a groin strain. It’s been paining for a few days now. No major pain, but a slight, constant dull pain which doesn’t seem to go away.

Categories: Injury, Running, Yoga
  1. saro
    March 30, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    u must have stretched a muscle, better than sprain but still a nagging pain that wudnt go, just massage with moove or voveran gel & see the result

  2. Divya
    March 30, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Really really want to run on Madras roads – a must do on the next trip 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

