Home > Running > Mar 25, 2010 – Wednesday: Trail running in Boston

Mar 25, 2010 – Wednesday: Trail running in Boston

There is a “trail” (it is in asphalt, but a beautiful one nevertheless, secluded and through the woods) quite close to the hotel and ran there. It was cold – at least for me. I think it was around 7-8 Deg C. I wore my thin jacket (which I had refused to throw away 😉 ) and the Sun Trust cheap gloves and it felt alright.

The motivation factor to run today was my new toy – the Garmin Forerunner 305. I experimented with it right through the run and felt really nice. It was also my first run outside on my new Sauconys.

The trail too was awesome. It was just 2 kms long (I discovered later when I finished my run and was walking back to the hotel) that it ‘extends’ on the opposite side of the road – hope I get to try that too in the next couple of days. Anyway, this one is right through the trees, under bridges with a nice cross wind and a few other runners, walkers and kids on bikes.

Being just 2k long, I almost divided the run into 3 parts: The first up and down (4k) was done almost continuously – http://connect.garmin.com/activity/27945886 – and this obviously was the quickest.

The next 4k was also almost similar, but was experimenting with laps with a lap marked at the end of 2k so as to get a split timing – http://connect.garmin.com/activity/27945882

I did the last 4k on a 4:1 R:W experimenting with the interval option – http://connect.garmin.com/activity/27945879

In between each 4k there was a break of ~2 minutes to fiddle around with the watch and get the setting right. Not counting those breaks, it came to 12k in about 1 hour 15 mins.

But, more than anything, it was good to be out there. 🙂

Categories: Running
  1. saro
    March 25, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    can u pl explain to fools like me what this garmin forerunner is??

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

