Home > Important_Day, Photo, Running > Mar 20, 2010 – Saturday: National Marathon, Washington DC

Mar 20, 2010 – Saturday: National Marathon, Washington DC

Woke up by 3:15, stretched out and warmed up. Then, I did a bizarre thing which I am going to continue from now on – I had a nice, long, warm shower! Who the hell would shower before they go on a run? I did – and you know what – it really helps to get you fresh, warms up the muscles and seems to improve blood circulation as well.

Ramesh’s whole family (He, Anju and his mom) were up by 4! They made coffee and omelletes for us at 4:30 in the morning.

Ramesh dropped me off at the DC Armory/ RFK stadium complex by 5:30 – I was among the first runners to get in a check my bag in. Started warming up, but was more taken up by the huge throng of runners coming in.

Anyway, will update more about the run later – that’ll be a long story :-). For now, lets just say that I had one of the best runs ever and finished the marathon in 4 hours 43 minutes. I could scarcely believe it myself!

Met Ram (Chennai Runners) after the race. It was his 14th marathon and he set a personal best as well – he finished in 4:19!! That was totally terrific too. 

I got my bag, changed and while I waited for Ram Mohan, I got a couple of pictures clicked:

Ram and Karthik National Marathon.txt

Karthik National Marathon

 

The results are published in: http://coolrunning.com/results/10/dc/Mar20_SunTru_set1.shtml

I am ranked 1821 🙂

Hope to write the whole run story later – so please check back in a couple of days.

Categories: Important_Day, Photo, Running
  1. Dwarak
    March 23, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Awesome!! Congratulations once more!

  2. saro
    March 25, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    super, sweetheart, dont worry about rank, may b 3 digit next time then 2 digit then single! wow, looking forwards to that day!!wait=ing to read the whole story too

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

