Home > Uncategorized > Jan 3, 2009 – Sunday: A slow half this morning

Jan 3, 2009 – Sunday: A slow half this morning

Nokia sports tracker link

Since I slept early last night, it wasn’t that difficult to wake up this morning. Did a quicker and briefer yoga session, picked Puru on the way (from Isphani) and we were the first at AU a few minutes before 5. Joining shortly were Ram (as usual), Vilwa, Shankar, Rajamanickam + 2 of his friends, Siva, Narayanan, Manish.. a decent crowd, but all stalwarts. I was probably the only minnow around.

No one was doing a RW, but I was not going to be tempted into an all-run and so I went solo. Before long, I was left behind and by the time we exited the Boatclub loop, even the distant miniature figures far ahead in front of me had disappeared. I was on a steady 4:1 and got to the 10k mark in about an hour and 10 minutes. Didn’t cut back to the 3:1 but continued along and, surprise, surprise – caught up with Ram, Siva and Shankar at Indira Nagar junction.

From then on, Ram and Siva pulled ahead, while I tagged along with Shankar. He was tapering down for Mumbai + nursing a niggle which he didn’t want to aggravate + preparing for some community race => that meant that he cut his pace down massively, half-running anid half-walking. That suited me fine. I was happy to have company and was in no hurry anyway.

We went into IIT and promptly got stopped. These guys have been running inside without a problem; The 2nd day I get in and we get stopped. Damn it! :-(. Again, my first reaction – “Oh sorry, I forgot to get the pass”; Shankar goes “Oh sorry; We don’t have a pass” — I am ashamed that my first reaction had to be a bloody lie!

It is stupid to say that I am trying hard to be honest, but honestly, that is the truth. :-). The number of white lies, convenient twists and hidden facts are so many and commonplace that it is almost tough to go through a day cleanly. Ok, end of moral science class and back to the road.

Met Rama Sivaraman as we trudged slowly through IIT Campus – just a short wave as  we went past. Clicked a couple of pics at Gajendra statue:

Shankar at Gajendra Statue - IIT

Me - Gajendra Statue - IIT

Then, we ran non-stop, but very, very slowly back to AU. It was around 19 k or something at that time and so I thought I would do a loop inside AU to get it to the 21.odd mark and tick another half-marathon distance. Once inside AU, Shankar stopped and I did a 3:1 RWR inside to get to the 21.5 mark. Took me 2 hours and 36 minutes overall.

Good run, Happy man.

Stretched a bit, ate kichadi at the AU canteen and back home by 9.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 3, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Dai the Nokia link asks for a username & password

  2. saro
    January 3, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    what about iit pass

  3. karthikpadmanabhan
    January 3, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    @Momski – I spoke to Ambi Periyappa about it. Said he will let me know in a weeks time. Lets see.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

