Home > Uncategorized > April 27, 2009 – Monday: Track running

April 27, 2009 – Monday: Track running

Got up at 5:30, packed and was in AU by 6:25 or so. Just started stretching when Prabhakar came in. We were supposed to have Krish and another girl (Shalini – who I haven’t met yet) join us, but they had told Prabhakar that they wouldn’t be joining in.

I immediately stretched a little bit more since if it was just the 2 of us, I knew that I was in for a killer again.

We slowly started walking towards our campus run start point when Prabhakar suggested that we’ll run in the track today. Seemed like a great idea and so off we went to the red-sanded track. Started the run at 6:38.

I have now come to realize that anything which is relatively new/ different excites Prabhakar and I have also come to realize that excitement for him translates into blistering speed. So, I was not that surprised when by the end of the 1st lap, I was struggling and kept telling myself that enduring this torture was the only way to increase my lung capacity – I don’t even know if that is true or not, but I like to believe that.

Prabhakar quips “Phew! It’s been such a long time since I’ve run in a track” and I pant out a retort “Oh.. by the way, this is the 1st time I’ve ever run on a track” – That, sort of, sums it up really.

He had evidently been missing these track runs since I can swear I saw him smile while running. It was like he turned a page back and was absolutely enjoying it settling into his comfort zone. Again, as is the norm on such occasions, I was in no such zone and running with absolutely no rhythm. Prabhakar explained that track running is a little different from road running and said something about undulations and slopes – I was too flushed to talk and so I let that pass.

After 5 such laps, he slowed down and now slowed down to a crawl – all to reveal his diabolical idea: He wanted to do a 1 lap sprint- 1 lap jog cycle and repeat that at least twice.

So, we slowly jogged through the 6th lap and actually walked the 7th lap and then sprinted the 8th; Sorry, he sprinted the 8th while I ran as fast as I could (calling my run as a sprint would be an exaggeration). It was fu*king unbelievable. He sprinted. My word! I really haven’t seen anyone running that fast. I ran fast, but I hadn’t even finished 200 mts when he finished the lap (400 mts). I was sure I was running at some 12.5 kmph and so he must have been running at 25kmph initially and at the time of his finish, it must be close to 30 kmph.

He did that lap in under a minute, while I took just more than 2 minutes.

We walked lap 9 and 10 and did another sprint in lap 11 – but that was much slower than the one before. We walked lap 12 and that was it. We walk-ran close to 5 kms, but had sweat pouring off our t-shirts.

Got to the car, changed t-shirts and headed off to the club. The sub-junior girls were just about to start stretching and so joined them for a nice stretch session.

1st track session today. Horrid show from me, but looking to improve on that slowly.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Divya
    April 27, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Looking at the amount of running/rowing you are doing.. you must have lost a ton of weight! What is 1 lap – 400m? In our Quality workout, our coach used to make us do a 1 mile warm up and 4-8 laps of straights & curves ( fast on the straights and shuffle jog on the curves ) and then another mile of cool down. This apparently is a pretty good strenghening exercise.

  2. karthikpadmanabhan
    April 28, 2009 at 7:35 am

    🙂 – that’s killing! What’s a shuffle jog?
    Yeah, 1 lap is 400 mts.
    I have not lost any weight thanks to me hogging every day + a lot of unnecessary beer drinking while IPL-watching.

  3. dnddump
    April 28, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    A shuffle jog is basically a really slow jog hardly lifting your feet. Whereas on the straights – you take long strides and lift ur feet well off the ground.

    I have noticed u have Pongal Vadai everyday da ! 🙂
    Why beer da? Wine avudu better..

  4. karthikpadmanabhan
    April 29, 2009 at 1:15 am

    I actually have what is on the menu for the day at the club. They have one b/f for each day of the week, with Vadai being a constant and Pongal repeats twice, I think.. 🙂

    Beer – ‘cos that’s easier to gulp down while watching the matches, especially if you are running to the hospital or chasing jimjim..

  5. dchenthil
    April 29, 2009 at 7:45 am

    At least cut your noruku theeni. This should definitely help. Prepare a diet chart and try to stick to that.

  6. karthikpadmanabhan
    April 30, 2009 at 4:50 am

    Diet chart and all that really can’t work at my place. I can stop eating if there is no food available, but if food is there, then I can’t stop 🙂 – and food (and nice, good food) is always there.

  7. dchenthil
    April 30, 2009 at 11:22 am

    I am logging my diet too from today, lets see if that motivates you 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

