Home > Uncategorized > April 22, 2009 – Wednesday: Cheating: Small stroll with Krish + link to Chennai Runners

April 22, 2009 – Wednesday: Cheating: Small stroll with Krish + link to Chennai Runners

Got up, packed up and left for AU at 6ish. I had almost reached there when Prabhakar called and bailed out thanks to a very bad cough that he picked up. But he assured me that Krish was coming and sms’ed me his number.

I reached the campus and started streching a bit when Suresh Kalpathi and his entourage finished thier run and started streching out. We made some small talk during which he (I forgot his name) mentioned that Chennai Runners are running regularly and suggested that I join them if I want to run regularly. He mentioned that they had a site and so I checked that up when I got to office: http://www.chennairunners.com/

Absolutely fantastic! They run regularly – 5k to 15k runs – and all in between. Which is exactly what I want. They have one tomorrow for a 10k run, starting at 5:00. Sounds good. I am seriously considering that now.

Coming to the run itself: It was very nice. Did a slow lap and that took about 25 minutes and so extended it a little to do a 30 min slow run. I think the lap around the campus is 4.4 kms and so that + a afew 100 mts more is what we did. Approx 4.7 kms in exactly 30 mins. A nice, slow, peaceful run. I enjoy these slow runs more than ever. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Divya
    April 22, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    I have actually read about this group before too – not sure where. It will be fun to join them. They seem to go for a lot of runs. Ideallam padichittu I am majorly motivated to start running again. It will have to wait until mid-may though 😦

    Btw – do make note of any running related items you might need from here – Gu or any electrolyte supply/Water carrying belt with bottles for long runs/Tech-Ts/Timing Chip( don’t know if races support that in india )/Head Lamps ( in case u need to run in the dark ).. these are just a few that came to my mind – make a list and let me know..

    • karthikpadmanabhan
      April 23, 2009 at 8:03 am

      :-). Yeah, I joined them today but essentially – we just meet as a group and then split based on each pairs speed preference. Will post on that next. Nice run.

      This is motivating you?? Hello!! You are the inspiration!

      🙂 Nothing da.. What is all that you are saying btw? dai – we are still small timers doing 30 min slow runs or max 8 kms, 10 kms runs.. Small fish. Those things are for the big leaguers. Long way to go for that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

